A writers desk is one of the most important tools of the trade.

Kate Beddow
5 min readMay 22, 2023

Where you sit to write can have such an impact on your concentration, how comfortable you feel, and so much more. I thought I would give you a little tour of my new desk and also explain why I felt the need to change my desk recently.

Why does where you’re sitting have such an impact on your writing?

Well, there are lots of reasons. It is important to be comfortable, physically and emotionally, when you write. If your desk and chair aren’t the right height, if your back isn’t supported adequately, if the light isn’t right, if there is a draft… it will make it harder for you to sit and write for long periods of time.

Equally, if your desk isn’t in the right place it can make a difference. I know lots of writers like to have their desk against a window. I would love that too, to sit with the light streaming through, but I know myself well enough to know that I would spend all day daydreaming, so I have to have my desk against the wall. Considerations like this are important when you are running a business. As lovely as it would be to spend all day gazing out of the window, I really do need to get things done!

My old desk…

When I was 40 my husband bought me all new office furniture. He had been saving because he knew that I was…

--

--

Kate Beddow

Words have power. Writer, coach, therapist and speaker. I work with women to create calmer, happier lives.