International Chocolate Day

Kate Beddow
4 min readSep 6, 2018

Those words fill me with joy. Even as someone who is dairy intolerant! I can go for weeks without chocolate but I do love it when I have it. There is something comforting and luxurious about it. (Maybe that is just because I grew up with the Caramel Bunny and the seductive ladies in the Flake adverts!).

We are brought up believing that chocolate is a treat yet it is also something that children eat most days in the west now. Schools may be clamping down on chocolate bars in lunch boxes but most children will have something containing it during the day, whether it is cereals, hot chocolate at bedtime or a biscuit after school.

Not everyone loves chocolate of course, I have been surprised by how many of my children’s friends don’t like it.

As a child my parents were very sensible about the amount of sweets we had and chocolate was for treats and in no way something to be eaten all the time.

It is important when reading these suggestions that we take into account all of the above factors (intolerance, dislike, school policy and parental choices) when thinking about how we can celebrate in school. There are some lovely ways to use chocolate to be more mindful and calm in school which don’t even involve eating it.

Mindful Chocolate Activities

--

--

Kate Beddow

Words have power. Writer, coach, therapist and speaker. I work with women to create calmer, happier lives.